3 online events in the Palliverse this week!

PallANZ 201601

Here at Palliverse, we love online communities of practice. The monthly #PallANZ tweet chat, co-hosted by Palliverse and Palliative Care Australia, is not the only online educational opportunity that may be of interest this week. While we hope you join us for Thursday evening’s #PallANZ discussion of advance care planning, you might also like to check out the following exciting events:

The Asia Pacific Hospice Palliative Care Network (AHPN) is holding its inaugural pilot “dialog session” this Wednesday, January 27th from 5pm to 6pm Singapore time (which should make it 9am GMT, 5pm AWST, 7pm AEST, 8pm AEDT and 10pm NZ time). The session will be hosted via the Skype for Business (webinar-style) app. A/Prof Odette Spruyt, Palliative Care Physician from Peter McCallum Cancer Centre (Melbourne, Australia), will be presenting “A discussion of palliative care service development in Asia Pacific”. According to AHPN, the dialog session is a “pilot education project which aims to bring together palliative care workers in Asia Pacific to exchange ideas and knowledge.” You can find out more information, including instructions on how to receive an invitation, at the Facebook event page or the APHN site.

For something a little different, why not try the NHS Transformathon, “a free, 24-hour, online, global event bringing together health and care staff and service users to connect, share and learn from each other”? The online broadcast runs for 24 hours from 4pm GMT Wednesday, January 27th (that’s midnight AWST, 2am AEST, 3am AEDT, 4am NZ time I think). While not specific to palliative care, the topics sound highly relevant to the Palliverse community – from the Transformathon website: “We’ll be hearing how patient leadership, co-production, social media and human centred design are directly improving outcomes for patients. We’re going to find out how crowd sourcing, making films and using social media are improving health and care services.” A calendar of the speakers (from various countries including Australia & NZ) and topics is available here.

What do you think? I’m excited about these new online events taking place and disappointed that I can’t stay awake for 24 hours to participate in all the Transformathon sessions. Do you think you’ll try these out? Please let us know if you do!

 

Disclaimer: Palliverse is not involved in AHPN Dialog session or the NHS Transformathon. Information shared here is from the websites and/or Facebook pages of these events. Also, please double-check the local time in case I have converted incorrectly!

 

Please share your thoughts with the Palliverse community

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s